Southwestern baked sweet potato

IMG_4260

This week brought a new box of veggies, and I can see a trend: grown below the ground. We should have probably seen this coming, because there don’t exist many plants that grow happily in cold winter wind and snow. If I were I vegetable, I’d rather be warm underground too. This has caused me to think more about all the the fruits and veggies I’m accustomed to eating in winter. A favorite winter breakfast of mine is oatmeal with yogurt, almonds, chopped strawberries, and bananas. Strawberries are especially a favorite of mine, but eating them every morning starts to make me feel hypocritical–I want to be responsible about the food choices I’m making because I’m not a planet hater . But I am a strawberry and banana lover. So how do those go together? This is a question I contemplated as I came up with a way to use some of those root veggies. My creation: a southwestern-style baked sweet potato. Chew on this recipe while you think about just how local you want to eat.

Southwestern baked sweet potato

Serves 2

2 sweet potatoes

1 cup arugula

1 can black beans

2 eggs

1 red onion, diced

1/2 cup cremini mushrooms

Salt and pepper, to taste

Extra virgin olive oil

Poke holes in sweet potatoes using a fork or knife, then place in microwave on high for 7 minutes. Heat olive oil in a skillet over medium heat, and sauté onions and mushrooms until soft (1-2 min). Drain black beans and add to onion and mushrooms, stirring until warm. Set aside. In skillet, fry or poach two eggs. Once “baked”, slice sweet potatoes in half and top with arugula, sautéed vegetables, and egg. Serve warm.

Leave a Reply

